Netflix & Sons of Anarchy Zombie alert!

Posted: December 30, 2013 in Movies, TV and general celebrity stuff

sons_of_anarchy_promoHoly shit!  People worry about drugs , alcohol and smoking because of it’s addictive demands.  Many people do not realize that technology can also be addicting and bad for your health.  For the past two nights I have been awake until approx 3am watching Sons of Anarchy (SOA) on my IPAD.  A friend of mine loaned me season 1 on DVD just before Christmas.  I blew through those episodes in a couple of nights, watching on my laptop while my Wife watched whatever she watches on TV.

After Season 1 I needed more..and I needed it FAST.  I threatened my friends and family that if they didn’t get it for me for Christmas I would tell all their kids the truth about Santa… well, that didn’t work.  I thought I would just go out and buy season 2… until I saw how the crooks wanted me to pay $50+ for a God damned TV series that would not have cost me anything if I was on the ball a few years ago.  Then I remembered Netflix.  I asked my friends if they could confirm that SOA was there.. and it was.. EUREKA!  One of my buddies broke my balls a bit because its only $8 a month for a subscription.  The cost isn’t the factor for me.. I just didn’t realize how far along it’s come since the shipping of DVDs years back.  I even thought you needed a game console to work it.. but boy was I wrong.. it’s been my savior.  I am 2/3 of the way through Season 2 now and I have watched them all exclusively on my IPAD.. WIN!

sons

Now.. about the Sons of Anarchy franchise… Kurt Sutter is the creator of the show..and he’s nothing short of a television genius.  As a matter of fact, I didn’t realize until just now as I write this and research at the same time, he plays the role of Otto and now I like that character even more.  I first heard of Kurt and started making all the appropriate connections when caught him on Howard Stern.  At that time I had not been watching SOA.. only saw a few episodes here and there, but I almost immediately became interested in him.  He was a great interview and had a great story.  I reccomend you check out the interview if you can (I hyperlinked a youtube clip to “howard stern” above).

If any of my readers have not yet been exposed or even only to a limited degree to the SOA.. I’ll give you a few highlights based on what I know so far..

First off.. it’s on FX.  This should tell you right away that it’s going to be edgier than a normal network television show.  FX has put out some really good TV series over the years.. anyone watch or know about Rescue Me, Justified, American Horror Story, The Shield & Nip Tuck?  All of these are fantastic and well worth the time if you are a TV buff.  They usually do not skimp on paying for quality actors and they do not shy away from gritty material.  So far I have heard words like tits, pussy, shit, prick, dick and they are just the ones I can recall.  Funny references to things you would hear in a locker room.. like one scene where Jax (the show’s protagonist) is laying on a blanket with his girlfriend..she says she is having a craving for a steak and he says.. “I have your T-bone right here” .. or something like that.  Not only that, every FX series I have watched thus far has gratuitus nudity and sex scenes that are only a few shades off from an R rated movie.

Ok..so enough about the childish cool stuff .. What is the show about?  I am only 1 and 1/2 seasons in.. so what I know most avid viewers have already forgotten.. but you have a Harley motorcycle club that is operating out of a fictional town in California called Charming.  The simplest way for me to describe the show is to tell you to think of the Sopranos but in the genre of a Motorcycle gang.  Their main business is illegal gun trade and they spend an absorbonant amount of time trying to keep the town of Charming under their thumb.  They constantly have to battle with rival gangs (Latinos – the Myans, Blacks – One Niners, White supremacists – Nords, Chinese Mafia and even the Irish – IRA).

When I first started watching and I saw that Ron Perlman (Clay Morrow) was one of the leads.. I think that is what threw me off.  I was never a fan of his.  I couldn’t see him in this role and just thought it would suck.  However, now that I came back and really “watched” the show.. I have to admit he does a fantastic job.  He really makes you hate him when you should and I find myself feeling sorry for him at times too.  Even Charlie Hunnam who plays Jax, does a great job.  When I first saw him walking through the scene with that goofy strut that he has.. I didn’t have high hopes..but again, the guy wins you over just like the old man Clay.

Probably the biggest surprise for me so far is Gemma played by Katey Segal.  All I knew her from was Married with Children..and I would never have expected her to succeed in a role like this.  In just one season I went form hating her to actually liking her and rooting for her.. and Im just getting started.  The rest of the cast will have me writing forever..so I’ll leave you at this point.  I strongly encourage anyone that is not sure about the show.. go spend a few mins on their official website (linked above) and also check them out on Wikipedia.. they write up is pretty good as far as I can tell.

funny-Netflix-guy-comic-next-episode

Just be warned.. if you find yourself liking the show.. there is a Netflix/SOA marathon in your future.. you might find yourself like me.. clicking “go” on “just one more episode”.. before you know it.. your battery indicator on your IPAD will be bitching at you telling you it’s about to crap out and your clock will be telling you to go to bed… and even though I can hardly keep my eyes open, I still find myself pissed off that I don’t have enough juice for the next one.

Zombie mode… ON

Leave a Reply

